Main content
City of Alexandria Homepage
Wednesday, April 1  •  44°Partly Cloudy Air Quality: Green
CloseWeather Forecast
Today: High 60° Low 39°
Mostly SunnyAir Quality: Green
Thu: High 71° Low 58°
Mostly Sunny
Fri: High 75° Low 55°
Sat: High 54° Low 38°
Partly Cloudy/Wind
City of Alexandria, VA City of Alexandria, VA
Boards & Commissions
Share Share RSS RSS Print Print Text Size Text Size NormalText Size LargeText Size Extra Large
Page updated Feb 4, 2015 2:31 PM

No Comments Posted Yet

Commission on Aging 


The Commission on Aging serves as the principal advocate for issues relating to aging and promotes the implementation of the Older Americans Act and other age-pertinent laws and policies in Alexandria and the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Commission advances programs and services that address the needs of older Alexandrians, especially for (but not exclusively) low-income citizens. The Commission on Aging meets on the second Thursday of every month, except in July and August, from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. Approximately four to six hours of work per month are required of Commission members.

Number of Members:



15 Citizen members, 11 of which shall be 60 years of age or older, including minority individuals
1 Representative of older persons
1 Representative of a health care provider organization
1 Representative of a supportive service provider
1 Individual with leadership experience in a volunteer organization
1 Local elected official, or his or her designee
1 Representative from the Commission for Women

Term of Service:

3-year term

City Staff Contact:

Debbie Ludington, Department of Community and Human Services, 703.746.5694

List of Members:

  • Mary Lee Anderson
  • Charles Bailey
  • Alan Dinsmore
  • Joan Dodaro
  • Carol Downs
  • Sean Dunbar
  • Cedar Dvorin
  • Robert Eiffert, chair
  • Virginia Fernbach
  • Anestacia Graham
  • David Kaplan
  • Bernard Kellom
  • Patrick Killeen
  • Jane King
  • Michael Kreps
  • Daniel Kulund
  • Janet Macidull
  • Elisabeth Palmer Johnson
  • Mary Parker
  • Redella Pepper
  • Annmarie Pittman
  • Marjorie Vanderbilt

For further information about the responsibilities of this board or commission, or to apply to serve on this board or commission, contact contact Jackie Henderson in the City Clerk's Office at 703 746-4550.