On Saturday, December 20, from 5 a.m. to 6 p.m., the Lee Center complex, at 1108 Jefferson St., will be closed due to building system upgrades.
Forms provided by the Supreme Court of Virginia
Collection of Bad Debts
Concealed Handgun Permits SEE NOTE BELOW
Criminal Felony Cases
Notary Public Qualifications
Birth Certificates are not kept by the Clerk of Court. You may contact the vital statistics section of the Alexandria Health Department at (703) 838-4400 x200, or contact the Office of Vital Records, P.O. Box 1000, Richmond, Virginia 23218-1000 at (804) 662-6200.
Individuals and partnerships record trade name/partnership certificates with Clerk of Circuit Court. Business License Office is reached at 703-838-4680.
Printed index of trade names from 1950, computerized index from 1984, corporation records prior to 1988, available in Clerk's Office.
For information about corporations, limited partnerships and limited liability companies, contact the State Corporation Commission (804) 371-9967
Download Assumed Name Certificate.
Due to the Police Department’s relocation and the suspension of fingerprinting from October 10 to October 24, the Clerk’s office will not be accepting Handgun Permit Applications. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at 703-746-4044.
Individual must be 21 years of age or older.
Must apply in the City or County of residence.
Application must be sworn under oath before a Notary or Clerk of Court.
Completed application and certificate of competency to carry handgun along with fees submitted to Police Department Identification Department. Contact Clerk or Police Department (703) 838-4444 for more information.
For information on Concealed Handguns in Virginia see the Virginia State Police Concealed Handgun Permits Information.
Download Concealed Handgun Permit Application from Virginia State Police site.
Criminal case hearings and motions are heard by the court every Thursday, which is Commonwealth Day.
Traffic and misdemeanor appeals are heard the 3rd Tuesday each month.
Delinquent collections of costs and fines are done through the Virginia Department of Taxation (804) 367-0016.
No forms available from the clerk's office, however an uncontested divorce information packet is available in the Alexandria Law Library (703) 838-4077
Filing costs typically range from $79-$112.00, contact clerk at (703) 746-4044.
Lawyer Referral (703) 548-1105.
Legal Aid (703) 684-5566.
Printed indexes from 1800's until October 1993, records in printed books and on microfilm, available to public 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday thru Friday.
Records after October, 1993, maintained in automated Supreme Court of Virginia Records Indexing System available in Clerk's Office.
Recordings done 9:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday.
Copies $0.50 per page; $2.00 for certification of a document.
Call (703) 746-4044 for the latest deed recording information and costs.
If you are recording a deed and need to calculate the fees, you can go to Virginia Courts Deed Calculation.
Issued Monday thru Friday 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
No blood tests, no waiting period, no residency requirements.
There is no one in the clerk's office to perform wedding ceremonies. You should call the clerk's office information line at (703) 746-4044 for a list of individuals who can perform the marriage ceremony.
Indexes and records available from 1870, computerized after 1983, open to public 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday thru Friday.
Fee for marriage license is $30.00, cash only.
Copies of marriage certificates for proof of marriage are available from the clerks office after the original license is returned by the marriage celebrant. Provide name of groom, maiden name of bride, date of marriage and $2.50 cash or money-order for each certified copy; stamped, self-addressed envelope if mailing.
Download Marriage License Application.
Amounts under $15,000.00 usually are filed in General District Court, the small claims court, which has fill-in-the-blank forms. Phone (703) 838-4021.
No forms available for the circuit court.
Filing fees typically range from $79.00 - $211.00 based on amount of recovery sought.
Filed in the City or County where you are resident.
Sample forms available from the Alexandria Law Library at the courthouse or from the Supreme Court of Virginia.
File with the clerk original and two copies of all documents and include a stamped, self-addressed envelope for copies of the signed name change order.
Filing fee is $34.00 cash or money order.
Probates done by appointment: call (703) 746-4044.
Information: call (703) 746-4044.
ALL FEES QUOTED AT THIS SITE ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE AT ANY TIME BY THE VIRGINIA STATE LEGISLATURE.
Find neighborhood parks?
Start a small business?
Learn about new development?
Pay my taxes or parking citation?
Report fraud, waste and abuse?
Speak at a City Council meeting?
Apply for a marriage license?
Find information for retired City employees?
Get information about permits?
Search property and sales data?
Find visitor information?
Find volunteer opportunities?
Obtain and review public documents and records?
Find information about parking?
Learn more about Verizon FiOS?
520 King St., Suite 307
Alexandria, VA 22314
Office Hours:Monday - Friday
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.