Main content
City of Alexandria Homepage
Sunday, March 1  •  National Weather Service Advisory 32°Fog Air Quality: Yellow
CloseWeather Forecast
Today: High 28° Low 29°
FoggyAir Quality: Yellow
Mon: High 41° Low 25°
Mostly SunnyAir Quality: Yellow
Tue: High 37° Low 34°
PM ShowersAir Quality: Yellow
Wed: High 50° Low 31°
RainAir Quality: Yellow
Thu: High 31° Low 12°
AM Snow
City of Alexandria, VA City of Alexandria, VA
Community & Human Services
Share Share RSS RSS Print Print Text Size Text Size NormalText Size LargeText Size Extra Large
Page updated Apr 1, 2014 3:10 PM

No Comments Posted Yet

Commission for Women Honors 10 Outstanding Community Achievers 

The Alexandria Commission for Women celebrated the hard work, dedication and community spirit of 10 Alexandria women at a ceremony March 31 at the Patent and Trademark Office. Among the honorees were two women who received posthumous awards: former City Manager Vola Lawson, who died in December 2013, and Ruthanne Lodato, a much-loved music teacher who was shot in her home by an intruder and died in February 2014.  

Accepting the Susan Lowell Butler Lifetime Achievement Award for his mother, Vola, Peter Lawson remarked on his mother’s love for the City and her determination to polish the City workforce. She personally knew persons working in the highest positions and those on the lower rungs of the employment ladder and she would often engage them in conversation on the street, he recalled. 

Ruthanne Lodato’s husband, Norman, and daughter, Lucia, accepted the Donna Bergheim Cultural Affairs Award. “Music was truly her gift to the girls and young women of our Alexandria community,” said Lucia. “In the past several weeks, my family has heard from countless students near and far who took piano lessons from my mother at some point over the last 30-plus years.”  Lodato, founder of the children’s program “Music Together Alexandria,” also served as pianist for Blessed Sacrament Catholic Church and gave private music lessons.  

Other award winners were:  Jen Walker (Marguerite Payez Award); Joyce Rawlings (Youth Community Services Award-Adult); Nancy Martinez (Youth Community Services Award--Youth); Joan Renner (Leadership in Business and Career Development Award); Jean Kelleher (Marian Van Landingham Legislation and Public Policy Award); Amy Creed (Making a Difference Award); Wendy Webb (Vola Lawson Award); and Cynthia Skinner (Rising Star Award).  All awardees were selected by an independent committee appointed by the Commission. Complete information on the award winners and their achievements can be found at Salute to Women Awards.  



 Customer Call Center 

Intake for Mental Health,
Intellectual Disability & Substance Abuse Services

In Crisis? Call us now.
24 hours a day:

Emergency Mental Health Services

Detox/Substance Abuse Services

Sexual Assault

Domestic Violence

Child Protective Services
or State

Adult Protective Services