JULY 29, 2010 #10-031
3:00 P.M. DONALDSON
Alexandria Police Target Drunk Drivers
On July 30, Alexandria police will substantially increase enforcement of drunk driving laws with a mobile DUI detail. The DWI crackdown will begin at 10:00 P.M. on Friday, July 30, and will continue until 6:00 A.M. on Saturday, July 31.
Additional officers have been assigned to patrol major corridors, targeting motorists who commit hazardous moving violations and exhibit other behaviors that may indicate a driver is under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Chief of Police Earl L. Cook reminds drivers that the maximum penalty in Virginia for the first conviction for driving under the influence is 12 months in jail, a $2,500 fine and a 12-month suspension of driving privileges. In addition, there are mandatory jail terms associated with these offenses, depending upon the blood alcohol content of the driver. Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles administrative fees may apply as well.
For further details, please call the Media Services Unit at 703.838.4636.