Main content
City of Alexandria Homepage
City of Alexandria, VA City of Alexandria, VA
Sheriff's Office
Share Share RSS RSS Print Print Text Size Text Size NormalText Size LargeText Size Extra Large
Page updated Apr 3, 2013 8:44 AM

No Comments Posted Yet

Sheriff’s Office Celebrates Annual Employee Awards and Promotion Ceremony

On Tuesday, March 26, the Alexandria Sheriff’s Office held its annual Employee Awards and Promotion Recognition Ceremony at the Office’s headquarters on Mill Road. Guest speaker Vice Mayor Allison Silberberg praised the Sheriff’s Office staff for their work and commitment to public service. Then she joined Sheriff Dana Lawhorne in presenting the following awards:

Best Idea – Sergeant Lynn Oliver
Community Service – Deputy William L. Morgan
Esprit de Corps – Lieutenant Ronald Lawhorne
Uniform and Physical Fitness – Deputy Juan Guzman
Lifesaving – Deputy Brian Bell
Outstanding Performance
– By sworn line staff – Deputy Marvin Pitts
– By sworn supervisor – Captain Frank Milano
– By civilian line staff – Ruth Graham
– By civilian supervisor – Ramone Brooks
Unit Spirit Award – Administrative Services
Contributions by an Employee of a City Agency, Organization or Contractor – Anne Stutts, Alexandria Circuit Court

Following the awards, three deputies were formally promoted. Clerk of the Court Edward Semonian issued new oaths of office to Chief Deputy Wendy Webb, Lieutenant Ronald Lawhorne and Sergeant Mark Jessup. Chief Webb then addressed the audience and thanked the Sheriff, her colleagues and her family for their support.

The following employees of the quarter were also acknowledged for their excellent performances during 2012.

1st Quarter – Deputy Trina Graves
2nd Quarter – Deputy Kenneth Choi
3rd Quarter – Deputy Dawn Jefferies
4th Quarter – Deputy Ernesto Arroyo

 Finally, the following deputies were recognized as pistol masters for receiving an average score of 99% or better in the Office’s annual firearms qualification.

Undersheriff Tony Davis
Captain Douglas Schuler
Lieutenant Douglas Woehlke
Sergeant Michael Neebe
Deputy Marvia Anderson
Deputy Shawn Buker
Deputy Keawatin Carter
Deputy David Hoffmaster
Deputy Timothy Honig
Deputy Dexter Mason

At the end of the program, Sheriff Lawhorne extended his congratulations to all the honorees and newly-promoted deputies.

Audience at Employee Awards