Archaeological Commission

Page updated on Sep 13, 2018 at 9:11 AM


The Archaeological Commission is responsible for the archaeology of all prehistoric and historic sites in the City. It establishes goals and priorities for the City's program; and acquires, preserves, and displays all the artifacts found. It works with federal, state and local governments, private foundations, citizens, area schools and colleges. The Commission meets at 7:00 p.m. on the third Wednesday of each month. Approximately four to five hours per month are required of Commission members.

Number of Members:



5 Members at-large
1 Citizen member from each of the three Planning Districts
1 Member from the Alexandria Association
1 Member from the Alexandria Chamber of Commerce
1 Member from the Alexandria Historical Society
1 Member from the Alexandria Society for the Preservation of Black Heritage
1 Member from the Friends of Alexandria Archaeology
1 Member from the Historic Alexandria Foundation

Term of Service:

4-year term

City Staff Contact:

Eleanor Breen, Office of Historic Alexandria, 703.746.4718

List of Members:

  • Georgia "Katy" Cannady
  • Christine Coker
  • Dylan Colligan
  • Ann Davin
  • Jacob Hoogland
  • Mark Ludlow
  • Janice Magnuson
  • Elizabeth McCall, chair
  • Richard Owens
  • Edward Pulliam
  • Ralph Rosenbaum
  • Seth Tinkham
  • Esther White
  • Ivy Whitlatch

For further information about the responsibilities of this board or commission, or to apply to serve on this board or commission, contact Gloria Sitton in the City Clerk's Office at 703.746.4550.