Beautification Commission

Page updated on Feb 15, 2018 at 12:19 PM


The Beautification Commission represents citizens' values in City beautification matters and coordinates projects to encourage and achieve beautification. The Commission sponsors the Alexandria Beautification Commission Awards each year. The Commission meets on the second Thursday of each month at 7:30 p.m. Approximately eight hours per month are required of Commission members. There are no meetings during July and August.

Number of Members:


Term of Service:

2-year term

City Staff Contact:

Oscar Mendoza, Recreation Department, 703.746.4667

List of Members

  • Kathryn Chiasson
  • Joseph Crowell
  • Cathleen Curtin
  • Kevin Dunne
  • Archer Heinzen
  • Dana Holmstrand
  • Carol Maxwell
  • Christina Mazurkevich
  • Beth McElwain
  • Julie Moore
  • Monica Murphy
  • Mellenie Runion
  • Anna Smith Lacey
  • Denise Tennant, chair
  • Erich Veiteheimer

For further information about the responsibilities of this board or commission, or to apply to serve on this board or commission, contact Gloria Sitton in the City Clerk's Office at 703.746.4550..