Commission for Women

Page updated on Jan 17, 2017 at 11:24 AM


The Commission on the Status of Women provides guidance and advice to eliminate discrimination because of sex; encourages equal opportunity for women in employment, recreational opportunities and facilities, health services, housing, education, government, community services and credit; recommends legislation and policy changes; receives complaints of discrimination; and conducts educational programs. The Commission meets on the second Tuesday of the month at 7:00 p.m. Approximately eight hours per month are required of Commission members.

Number of Members:


Term of Service:

3-year term

City Staff Contact:

Kate Garvey, Department of Community and Human Services, 703.746.5979

List of Members:

  • Holly Beville
  • Alyssa Cochran
  • Alicia Daly
  • Lateisha Garrett
  • Jacinta Greene
  • Amy Jackson
  • Elizabeth Johnson
  • Monika Jones, chair
  • Tarina Keene
  • Kendra Martello
  • Anuja Miner
  • Brian Morreale
  • Thao Nguyen
  • C. Elizabeth "P.J." Palmer Johnson
  • Maribel Ramos

    For further information about the responsibilities of this board or commission, or to apply to serve on this board or commission, contact contact Jackie Henderson in the City Clerk's Office at 703 746-4550.