Commission on HIV-AIDS

Page updated on Jun 3, 2019 at 11:41 AM


The Commission advises City Council in the formulation and implementation of public policy on the treatment of HIV/AIDS and prevention of the spread of the disease, promotes citizen participation in the formulation of such policy, provides Council and the public with current information regarding HIV/AIDS, and promotes educational programs on awareness, treatment and prevention. The Commission meets on the third Monday of the month at 6:30 p.m. Approximately three to five hours per month are required of Commission members.

Number of Members:



  • 1 Member from and representing:
    • INOVA Juniper  
    • Hospice of Northern Virginia
    • An HIV/AIDS service organization which provides services in the City to the minority community
    • A local Gay and Lesbian Community Association
    • City of Alexandria Public Schools
    • Alexandria Community Services Board
    • Alexandria Human Rights Commission
    • Alexandria Commission for Women
    • The Sheriff, or the Sheriff's Designee
    • 1 member who is a practicing physician
    • 1 student who currently attends any school in the City of Alexandria
    • 12 Citizens at Large

Term of Service:

3-year term

City Staff Contact:

Nechelle Terrell, Alexandria Health Dept., 703.746.4933


Commission on HIV/Aids website

For further information about the responsibilities of this board or commission, or to apply to serve on this board or commission, contact Gloria Sitton in the City Clerk's Office at 703.746.4550.