Commission on Persons with Disabilities

Page updated on Sep 13, 2018 at 9:31 AM


The Commission on Persons with Disabilities researches programs and legislation relating to persons with physical and sensory disabilities and advises City Council and members of the community about these programs and laws. It serves as a forum for persons with physical and sensory disabilities. The Commission also serves as the local Disabilities Services Board. The Commission meets at 7:00 p.m. on the second Wednesday of every month. Approximately six to ten hours a month are required of Commission members.

Number of Members:



  • 14 Citizen members - A majority of the citizen members shall be persons with physical, visual or hearing disabilities
  • 1 Representative of the Alexandria Commission on Aging
  • 2 Representatives of the business community (one from the Alexandria Chamber of Commerce and one at large)
  • Ex-officio members: The Mayor, the City Manager, the Superintendent of Schools, the Director of Code Enforcement, the Director of General Services, the Director of the Health Department, the Director of the Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse, and the Director of Personnel Services or the incumbent's representative

Term of Service:

2-year term

City Staff Contact:

Miladis Martinez Gutierrez, Office of Human Rights, 703.746.3140

List of Members:

  • Elizabeth Adams
  • Mark Benedict
  • Amy Blackwood
  • Kate Connelly
  • Debra Critchley
  • Patrick Dennis
  • Kent Fee
  • Brian Miller
  • Nicole Otallah
  • Ashli Owen
  • Mary Parker
  • Toni Popkin
  • Edward Schirmer
  • Lisa Scott
  • Wanda Taylor

For further information about the responsibilities of this board or commission, or to apply to serve on this board or commission, contact Gloria Sitton in the City Clerk's Office at 703.746.4550.