Visit Alexandria Board of Governors

Page updated on Jun 25, 2018 at 3:43 PM


The Visit Alexandria Board of Governors Association (former Alexandria Convention and Visitors Association, Inc. Board of Governors) will promote the facilities, restaurants, attractions, retail businesses and events of the City in order to maximize tax revenues and to share the unique heritage of the City with visitors. Members of the Visit Alexandria Board of Governors must be members of the Alexandria Convention and Visitors Association.

Number of Members:



  • 1 Attraction Representative
  • 1 Historic/Preservation Representative
  • 1 Hotel Owner/Manager Representatives
  • 1 National or International Trade or Professional Assn. Exec. (one of which will be from the tourism industry)
  • 2 Restaurant Owner/Manager Representatives
  • 1 Retail Business Owner/Manager Representative
  • 1 Alexandria Hotel Association President
  • 2 At Large Members
  • 4 Hotel/Restaurant/Association or Retail Representatives
  • Mayor or designee
  • City Manager or designee
  • Non-voting ex-officio members:
    • Office of Historic Alexandria Executive Director
    • Chamber of Commerce President
    • AEDP Executive Director
    • OTBPA President
    • Eisenhower Avenue Partnership President or Executive Director
    • Del Ray Business Association President
    • Queen Street Business Association President
    • West End Business Association President
    • Commission for the Arts Chairman
    • Old Town Boutique District Representative
    • Office of Special Events Representative

Term of Service:

2-year term

City Staff Contact:

Patricia Washington, President and CEO, 703.652.5369

List of Members:

  • Rebecca Aloisi
  • Don Anderson
  • Emily Baker
  • Bill Butcher
  • Kate Ellis
  • Benjamin Fiore-Walker
  • Annee Gillett
  • Charlotte Hall
  • Ian Harvey
  • Karen Kotowski
  • Trae Lamond
  • Lawrence Ponzi
  • Mary Anne Russell
  • Lori Swain
  • Victoria Vergason
  • Justin Wilson

For further information about the responsibilities of this board or commission, or to apply to serve on this board or commission, contact Gloria Sitton in the City Clerk's Office at 703 746-4550.