Economic Opportunities Commission

Page updated on Jul 21, 2017 at 3:51 PM


The Economic Opportunities Commission develops and recommends programs which provide outreach and assistance to low-income residents. The Commission meets on the third Wednesday of the month at 7:00 p.m. Approximately four hours per month are required of Commission members.

Number of Members:



  • 1/3 shall be elected public officials currently holding office, or their representatives appointed by the City Council
  • 1/3 at least shall be representatives of the poor certified by the Commission
  • 1/3 shall be representatives of business industry, labor, religious, welfare or other private groups and interests certified by the Commission.

Term of Service:

2-year term

City Staff Contact:

Jessica Lurz, Dept. of Community and Human Services, 703.746.5973

List of Members:

  • Canek Aguirre
  • Thomas Belli
  • John Bohm
  • John Chapman
  • Lavon Curtis
  • Seena Foster
  • Salina Greene
  • Gila Harris
  • Fara Islam
  • Richard McPike
  • Greg Parks
  • Redella Pepper
  • Samantha Pitts-Kiefer
  • Ladonna Sanders
  • June Shih
  • Allison Silberberg
  • Maani Stewart
  • Kelly Stone
  • Andrew Strickland

For further information about the responsibilities of this board or commission, or to apply to serve on this board or commission, contact Gloria Sitton in the City Clerk's Office at 703.746.4550.

See the Economic Opportunities Commission web page here.