Park and Recreation Commission

Page updated on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:12 PM


The Park and Recreation Commission advises City Council on all matters relating to parkland, recreation, and culture; and participates in planning recreational activities and services through its advice to Council and the Department of Parks, Recreation and Cultural Activities. The Commission also sponsors an awards program for service to the community. The Commission meets on the third Thursday of the month at 7:30 p.m. Approximately eight hours per month are required of Commission members.

Park & Recreation Commission Meeting Information >>

Number of Members:



  • 3 Members from each Planning District
  • 2 Members from among the high school youth of the City

Term of Service:

3-year term

City Staff Contact:

William Chesley, Dept. of Recreation, 703.746.5426

List of Members:

  • Jennifer Atkins, Chair
  • Gina Baum
  • Stephen Beggs
  • Rich Brune
  • Judith Coleman
  • Detriona Johnson
  • Robert Brian McPherson
  • Jesse O'Connell
  • Catherine Poulin
  • Conner Rex
  • Matthew Walsh

For further information about the responsibilities of this board or commission, or to apply to serve on this board or commission, contact Jackie Henderson in the City Clerk's Office at 703 746-4550.