Redevelopment and Housing Authority

The Alexandria Redevelopment and Housing Authority (ARHA) provides public housing for lower-income families in accordance with state and federal statutes and regulations of the U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development.

Page updated on Feb 16, 2018 at 11:02 AM


A political subdivision of the State of Virginia, ARHA does not receive any City funding; however, its nine Commissioners are appointed by the City Council. The Board of Commissioners of the Alexandria Redevelopment and Housing Authority meets on the fourth Monday of the month at 7:30 p.m. Approximately six hours per month are required of Commissioners.

Number of Members:



  • 1 Representative from the Alexandria Resident Council (The ARC representative must be a resident of public or publicly assisted housing)
  • 1 Representative from the Alexandria Landlord-Tenant Relations Board
  • 7 Citizen Members

Term of Service:

4-year term

City Staff Contact:

Keith Pettigrew, Director, ARHA, 703.549.7115

List of Members:

  • Anitra Androh
  • Christopher Ballard
  • Daniel Bauman, Chair
  • Chyrell Bucksell
  • Carter Flemming
  • Peter Kleeblatt
  • Merrick Malone
  • Karl Sandberg
  • Salena Zellers

For further information about the responsibilities of this board or commission, or to apply to serve on this board or commission, contact Gloria Sitton in the City Clerk's Office at 703 746-4550.