The following guide provides summaries on the various revenues collected by the City and an explanation of the City's modified accrual accounting procedures. Click on any of the links in the Quick Guide to view information on any specific revenue type or explanation.
FY 2013 Revised Budget: Includes initial appropriation at start of fiscal year plus any reappropriation of encumbrances and other supplemental appropriations.
Real Property Taxes: Real property taxes are assessed as of January 1 and assessment notices are mailed to property owners in February. Real estate taxes are billed and payable in two installments. The first tax bill is mailed in May and is payable by June 15. The second tax bill is mailed in October and is payable by November 15.
Personal Property Taxes: Personal property tax revenue consists of two sources: individual personal property (primarily vehicles), and business personal property (includes motor vehicles, machinery, computers, and furniture). Taxes are assessed as of January 1. Tax bills are mailed to taxpayers in late August and are due on October 5. The State’s share of the local personal property tax payment for FY 2013 is capped at $23.6 million. In FY 2013, this amount will cover approximately 61 percent of most taxpayers’ bills. It covered approximately 63 percent of most taxpayers’ bills in FY 2012.
Penalties & Interest: Penalties and interest on delinquent real estate and personal property tax.
Local Sales and Use Tax: Businesses remit sales tax to the Commonwealth within 30 days of the end of the month in which sales occurred. The Commonwealth wires the City’s portion of the sales tax approximately one month later.
Communications Sales and Use Taxes: Businesses remit the communications tax to the Commonwealth within 30 days of the end of the month in which the service occurred. The Commonwealth wires the City’s portion of the communication tax one month later.
Business License Taxes: The City’s business license tax is due March 1. These collections are counted and analyzed in March. Most collections prior to March represent collections from taxpayers who pay on a quarterly basis. Collections from new businesses continue year-round.
Tobacco Taxes: Businesses remit cigarette tax revenue to the Northern Virginia Cigarette Tax Board. This revenue is then forwarded to the City approximately 30 days after the end of the month in which the sales occurred.
Motor Vehicle License Tax: Also known as the decal fee, this is an annual license tax on all motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers. Payment is due by October 5 each year. Collections for vehicles newly purchased or moved into the City continue year-round.
Revenue from the Federal Government: This category includes reimbursement for federal prisoners held at the Alexandria Detention Center, and State Criminal Alien Assistance Program Aid (SCAAP).
Personal Property Tax Reimbursement from the Commonwealth: The Commonwealth of Virginia’s share of Alexandria’s personal property tax on vehicles is currently capped at $23.6 million. In FY 2013, this amount will cover approximately 61 percent of most taxpayers’ bills. It covered approximately 63 percent of most taxpayers’ bills in FY 2012.
Revenue from the Commonwealth: Includes Compensation Board reimbursements for public safety and finance functions, payment made to jurisdictions with Police Departments (H.B. 599), and aid for road maintenance.