Washington Area Public Archaeologists

The following is a list of archaeologists working in the public sector and at historic sites in the Washington DC area, including Northern Virginia and parts of Maryland.

Page updated on Aug 27, 2020 at 9:15 AM

Washington Area Public Archaeologists

Below is a list of archaeologists working in government agencies and private museums in the Washington area.

Archaeological Resource Management Firms are listed on the Historic Trades Directory from the Virginia Department of Historic Resources. For additional questions about hiring an archaeological consultant, please contact Alexandria Archaeology.   

 To update your listing, please request staff assistance through Alex311 or contact the Alexandria Archaeology Museum.


Alexandria Archaeology
105 N. Union St., #327
Alexandria, VA 22314
Contact: Eleanor Breen, Ph.D. City Archaeologist
Phone: 703.746.4399  


District of Columbia
DC Historic Preservation Office
1100 4th Street, SW, Suite 650 East
Washington, DC 20024
Contact: Ruth Trocolli, City Archaeologist
Phone: 202.442.7600                  
Ruth.Trocolli@dc.gov 


Fairfax County Park Authority
Cultural Resource Management and Protection
2855 Annandale Road
Falls Church, VA 22042
Contact: Liz Crowell, Branch Manager
Phone: 703.534.3881  
elizabeth.crowell@fairfaxcounty.gov 
C.A.R.T County Archaeological Research Team Archaeology Blog


Gunston Hall Plantation
10709 Gunston Road
Mason Neck, VA 22079
Contact: David Shonyo, Archaeologist
Phone: 703.550.9220  
archaeology@gunstonhall.org 


Loudoun County
Department of Planning and Zoning
1 Harrison Street, SE, 3rd Floor     
Leesburg , VA 20175-3102     
Contact: Heidi E. Siebentritt, Historic Preservation Planner
Phone: 703.771.0246                             
dpz@loudoun.gov


Maryland National Capitol Park & Planning Commission
Archaeology Program      
8204 McClure Road                        
Upper Marlboro, MD 20772     
Contact: Kristin Montaperto, Chief Archaeologist
Phone: 301.627.1286
Kristin.montaperto@gparks.com  


M-NCPPC (The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission)
Archaeology Program
Needwood Mansion
6700 Needwood Road
Derwood, Maryland 20855
Contact: Heather Bouslog, Senior Archaeologist
Phone: 301.563.7531
heather.bouslog@montgomeryparks.org 
Contact: Casandra Michaud, Senior Archaeologist
Phone: 301.563.7532      
cassandra.michaud@montgomeryparks.org 


Mount Vernon 
Preservation & Archaeology
Mount Vernon Ladies Association
P.O. Box 110
Mount Vernon, VA 22121
Contact: Jason Boroughs      
Phone: 703.780.2000  
Jboroughs@mountvernon.org 


National Park Service, National Capital Region
Contact: Joshua Torres, M.A., Ph.D.
Supervisor of History and Culture Programs
Regional Archaeologist
National Park Service
Region 1 - National Capital Area
1100 Ohio Drive, SW
Washington, DC 20242  
Office: 202.619.7273
MRCE: 301.832.3951
Cell: 202.713.7091     
joshua_torres@nps.gov


National Park Service, National Capital Region
Museum Resource Center
3300 Hubbard Road
Landover, MD 20785
Contact: Marian Creveling, Supervisory Collections Manager     
Phone: 301.832.3950
marian_creveling@nps.gov


National Park Service George Washington Memorial Parkway  
700 George Washington Memorial Parkway
McLean , VA 22101
Contact: Matthew R. Virta, Cultural Resource Program Manager
Phone: 703.289.2535  
matthew_virta@nps.gov


Prince William County
Planning Office, DS940
5 County Complex Court
Suite 210
Prince William, VA 22192-9201
Contact: Justin Patton, County Archaeologist
Phone: 703.792.5729  
jspatton@pwcgov.org

Top