Upcoming Programs at Friendship Firehouse Museum-Fall 2014

Information about upcoming programs at the Friendship Firehouse museum, including a Firefighting History Walking Tour and a Civil War Firefighting History Walking Tour.

Page archived as of November 24, 2015

107 South Alfred Street

Friendship Firehouse Festival 2009Saturday, October 11, 1-2:30
Firefighting History Walking Tour
Explore Alexandria’s firefighting history on the “Blazing a Trail:  Alexandria’s Firefighting History” tour.  Participants learn about volunteer firefighting in early Alexandria, three devastating fires, and the five volunteer fire companies.  The tour begins at the historic Friendship Firehouse, goes east on Prince Street, and returns to Friendship via King Street. 
For age 10 and older.  $6 for adults, $4 ages 10-17.  Reservations are required, as space is limited.  Telephone 703.746.4994, or see www.friendshipfirehouse.net. 

Ticket limit:  10

Saturday, October 25, 1-3 p.m.
Firefighting in Civil War Alexandria Walking Tour
When Virginia joined the Confederacy, Union troops occupied Alexandria and it became a center for transportation, supplies and medicine.  Most municipal functions were assumed by the U.S. Army under the authority of the military governor.  The “We’ve Been Burned:  Alexandria Firefighters During the Civil War” walking tour will explore firefighting during the Union occupation.  How were volunteer fire companies treated by Federal authorities? Were firefighters allowed out after curfew?  What happened to the firehouses and equipment?   These questions will be answered as tour participants visit the sites of four of the five fire houses, and learn what happened if there was a fire in the occupied city.

For age 10 and older.  $6 for adults, $4 ages 10-17.  Reservations are required, as space is limited.  Telephone 703.746.4994, or see www.friendshipfirehouse.net.

Ticket limit:  10

The Friendship Fire Company, established in 1774, was the first fire company in Alexandria.  Friendship members were volunteers – motivated by their concern for the property and well-being of the community. 

Today the Friendship Firehouse, built in 1855, is a museum open to the public.  Buckets, hose, axes, and Friendship’s mid-19th century suction engine – elaborately decorated with the company’s clasped-hands insignia, are on view with the company’s ornate hose reel carriage that was made in Alexandria.  Visitors also learn about the company as a fraternal organization, and its larger role in the community.  In addition to fighting fires, Friendship members participated in parades and performed ceremonial duties for civic events. In the firehouse Meeting Room ceremonial artifacts such as helmets, capes and other regalia, are exhibited alongside the room’s original furniture.

Friendship Firehouse Museum is located at 107 South Alfred Street in Old Town, Alexandria.  The site is open from 1-4 pm on Saturdays and Sundays; closed on major holidays.  The museum is owned and operated by the City of Alexandria, and managed by the City’s Office of Historic Alexandria.  For more information see www.friendshipfirehouse.net.; or contact the museum by calling 703.746.3891.