Archaeologists Discover 1755 Warehouse
In 1749, when the Town of Alexandria was founded, the southwestern half of the property at 220 South Union Street was on top of a bluff overlooking a cove of the Potomac River. The filling of the cove (called “banking out”) in the late 18th century created the remaining land that became the northeastern half of the property. By 1755, Duke Street was cut through the bluff and extended down to the water. The Alexandria Trustees called upon John Carlyle to erect a public warehouse on the north side of Duke Street, on what would become 220 South Union Street.
During the final days of September, 2015, hints of an exciting discovery began to emerge during construction of the new Indigo Hotel. Archaeologists from Thunderbird Archaeology were monitoring the excavation for the hotel garage, when large timbers were unearthed at the edge of Duke Street. Construction work ceased in the area to allow for a substantial archaeological investigation, which was completed in early November, revealing the remains of the public warehouse!!
For more information on this exciting archaeological excavation go to the Alexandria Archaeology Museum website.