Reserve Your Seat at the Salute to Women Awards Banquet

Page archived as of March 30, 2009

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: March 17, 2009    

Reserve Your Seat at the Salute to Women Awards Banquet 

The Alexandria Commission for Women invites the community to attend the 29th Annual Salute to Women Awards Banquet on Monday, March 30, beginning at 6 p.m. at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, 901 N. Fairfax St. Tickets are $75 each and reservation payments can be made online using eChecks. The deadline to RSVP for this event is Wednesday, March 25, 2009.

The Alexandria Commission for Women is pleased to announce this year’s outstanding Salute to Women Award nominees, whose names were submitted in consideration of their significant contributions to the City of Alexandria:  Laura Bailey; Rose Williams Boyd; Marcia Call; Allison Clausen; Royce Cohen; Audrey Davis; Kimberly Fiske; Karen Gautney; Frances Hicks; Alicia Hughes; Alice Merrill; Lynn O’Connell; Linda Odell; Diane Reese; Jeanette Spicer; State Senator Patsy Ticer; and Jen Walker. The Commission will honor all nominees and announce winners at the banquet.

Proceeds from the banquet will benefit programs of the Alexandria Office on Women, including domestic and sexual violence prevention services. Although the Office on Women is a City agency, it depends upon funding from grants and private donations for additional support. 

For further information, please contact Angela Johnson at 703.746.5030, e-mail, or visit