Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is a seven-member decision-making body appointed by City Council and makes recommendations to Council regarding special use permits, development special use permits, requests for vacations of or encroachments on public right-of-ways, rezonings, master plan amendments, zoning text amendments and other requests. The Planning Commission has the authority to approve or deny requests for subdivision of land or development site plans.

Page updated on Sep 6, 2019 at 2:31 PM

What's New?

Planning Commission Annual Reports

Planning Commission Meetings

The Alexandria Planning Commission meets on the 1st Tuesday of every month (except August) at 7:00 p.m. in Alexandria's City Hall, Council Chambers. 

Tools and Resources


Member Roster

  • Nathan Macek, Chair 
  • Maria Wasowski, Vice Chair 
  • David Brown, Commissioner 
  • Melinda Lyle, Commissioner 
  • Stephen Koenig, Commissioner 
  • Melissa McMahon, Commissioner
  • John Goebel, Commissioner 
  • Send a Message to the Planning Commission