Alexandria Police to Conduct Business Compliance ChecksFor Immediate Release: June 24, 2019
Alexandria police will be participating in an alcohol compliance campaign this week. This awareness and enforcement campaign focuses on various retail business locations that sell alcohol throughout Alexandria. Officers are visiting businesses throughout Alexandria and are providing education and awareness information for the businesses and their employees
Chief of Police Michael L. Brown reminds business owners and employees that for a first time offense of selling alcohol to an underage customer, a licensee can be penalized up to $2,000 and/or have its ABC license revoked for violating Virginia’s minimum-age alcohol laws. The maximum penalty in Virginia for an employee who sells alcohol to minors is 12 months in jail and a $2,500 fine.
For further details, please call the Public Information Office at 703.746.6600.