Alexandria Police to Conduct DWI Enforcement
On July 1, Alexandria Police will conduct a stationary DWI enforcement effort to deter and apprehend intoxicated drivers. The DWI checkpoint will begin at 9 p.m. on Saturday, July 1, and continue until 5 a.m. on Sunday, July 2. Motorists will be stopped at a checkpoint and drivers will be checked to assure that their abilities to drive have not been impaired by alcohol or drugs.
Chief of Police Michael L. Brown reminds drivers that the maximum penalty in Virginia for the first conviction for driving under the influence is 12 months in jail, a $2,500 fine and a 12-month suspension of driving privileges. In addition, there are mandatory jail terms associated with these offenses, depending upon the blood alcohol content of the driver. Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles administrative fees may apply as well.
For further details, please call the Public Information Office at 703.746.6600.