City of Alexandria Announces Recipients of the 2010 CIVIC Awards

Page archived as of November 30, 2015

The City of Alexandria is pleased to announce the recipients of the 25th Annual Park and Recreation Commission CIVIC Awards. The CIVIC Awards recognize the unsung volunteer efforts of Alexandrians who provide a valuable service in meeting recreation, park, or cultural needs. Recipients received their recognition at the City’s Annual Birthday Celebration on Saturday, July 10.

The 2010 Park and Commission CIVIC Award Recipients are as follows:

  • Jeffrey Peisch - Citizen Award
    In recognition of eleven years of volunteer service as a youth coach, Alexandria Little League Board member and President, and commitment to City of Alexandria youth.
  • Whitney A. Dubinsky - Citizen Award
    For countless volunteer hours serving on the Cora Kelly Recreation Center Advisory Board and as an advocate for the establishment and beautification of parks in the Lynhaven Community.
  • Professor Jaan Holt - Citizen Award
    In recognition of 30 years of exemplary service in design education, public outreach, and professional work while instilling the core value of community service to alumnus of the City’s only academy of Architecture and Design.
  • Architects Anonymous - Organization Award
    In recognition of their dedication and community service in providing an overall vision for the improvement of the Arlandria community through the transformation of the Mt. Vernon properties adjacent to Four Mile Run Park.

The Park and Recreation Commission is an eleven-member advisory unit established by City Council in March 1970. The Commission advises City Council in matters relating to parkland, recreation and culture, and participates in planning recreational activities and services through its advice to Council, and the Department of Recreation, Parks and Cultural Activities. Members of the Park and Recreation Commission are selected to represent one of the three Park Districts in the City and two youth representatives.

For additional information, visit