Alexandria Beautification Commission Announces 2012 Beautification Award Winners

Page archived as of December 1, 2015

For Immediate Release: October 1, 2012

Alexandria Beautification Commission Announces 2012 Beautification Award Winners

The Alexandria Beautification Commission has announced the 2012 Alexandria Beautification Award winners. In a ceremony held on September 24 at the Lee Center, the Commission, Vice Mayor Kerry Donley, and Councilman Paul Smedberg presented 40 awards, including 34 residential awards, two commercial awards, and three architecture awards. Photographs of the 2012 Award winners can be viewed on the City’s website at

The 2012 Award winners are as follows:

Residential Awards

    East Alexandria

510 North Alfred Street
Carlyle Towers Condominium
1701 Duke Street
221 Jefferson Street
708 Kahn Place
511 Princess Street
832 South Lee Street
325 North Royal Street
630 South Royal Street
420 North Washington Street

    Central Alexandria

412 East Alexandria Avenue
1310 Bishop Lane
3505 Cameron Mills Road
1300 Dartmouth Road
1304 Dogwood Drive
3970 Fort Worth Avenue
1410 Mount Vernon Avenue
115 West Nelson Avenue
201 Randolph Avenue
51 West Reed Avenue
2414 Ridge Road Drive
2603 Ridge Road Drive
14 West Rosemont Avenue
723 Timber Branch Drive
921 Vicar Lane

    West Alexandria

85 Arell Court
Cameron Station Community Association
4028 Ellicott Street
5916 Jewell Court
603 North Naylor Street
1401 North Pegram Street
Seminary Park Community Association
22 Underwood Place
3940 Vermont Avenue

Commercial Awards

Alexandria Transit Company (DASH)
La Cuisine

Community Service Award

Wakefield Tarleton-James Paulk and Edward Hamborsky

Architecture Awards

400 Cloverway Drive
433 East Monroe Avenue
North Parking Garage-WHS-BRAC 133

The Commission sponsors the Alexandria Beautification Awards each year recognizing community member’s special efforts to contribute to the beautification of their neighborhoods and public vistas with landscaping and overall aesthetic design. Nominations are made by members of the Commission and the community and are judged by members on the use of plants, texture and color, neighborhood context, marked improvements, and overall appearance. Winners are limited to properties visible from the public right of way.

The Alexandria Beautification Commission is a 12-member volunteer board approved by the City Council for two-year terms. The Beautification Commission represents citizens' values in City beautification matters and coordinates projects to encourage and achieve beautification.

For more information about the Awards program contact Jennifer Pugh, Commission chairperson via email at