Alexandria Beautification Commission Announces the 2013 Alexandria Beautification Award Winners

Page archived as of December 1, 2015

For Immediate Release: October 10, 2013  

Alexandria Beautification Commission Announces the 2013 Alexandria Beautification Award Winners

The Alexandria Beautification Commission announced the 2013 Alexandria Beautification Award winners in a ceremony held on September 30, 2013 at the Little Theatre of Alexandria. The Commission, Mayor William Euille, and Councilman Tim Lovain presented 37 Awards. Photographs of the 2013 Award winners are available by visiting  

  • Recycling
    The Fountains at Washington House
    MOM’s Organic Market
  • East Alexandria
    139 South Fairfax Street
    413 Franklin Street
    504-540 John Carlyle Street
    Hopkins-Court/ I Can Shine Garden
    821,823,825 Oronoco Street
    700 South Pitt Street
    Founders Park Dog Exercise Area
    Old Town Volunteer Cleanup-John Wilbor
  • Central Alexandria
    425 Argyle Drive
    802 Beverley Drive
    1501 Crestwood Drive
    8 West Del Ray Avenue
    2501 Hayes Street
    258 Lynhaven Drive
    2100 Mount Vernon Avenue
    305 Park Road
    310 Summers Drive
    2406 Taylor Avenue
    812 Vassar Road
    1007 Vassar Road
    605 Upland Place
  • West Alexandria
    2007 Braddock Court
    3917 Colonel Ellis Avenue
    4109 Duke Street
    5990 Duke Street
    124 North Early Street
    1102 Finley Lane
    5524 Forrestal Avenue
    2202 Fort Ward Place
    5107 & 5109 Heritage Lane
    913 North Kemper Street
    510 North Pegram Street
    Stonegate Mews/Manors at Stonegate Common Area
    Sibley Street Community Path- Debra Vogel

The Commission sponsors the Alexandria Beautification Awards each year recognizing community member’s special efforts to contribute to the beautification of their neighborhoods and public vistas with landscaping and overall aesthetic design. Nominations are made by members of the Commission and the community and are judged by members on the use of plants, texture, and color, neighborhood context, marked improvements, and overall appearance. Winners are limited to properties visible from the public right of way.

The Alexandria Beautification Commission is a 12-member volunteer board approved by the City Council for two-year terms. The Beautification Commission represents citizens' values in City beautification matters and coordinates projects to encourage and achieve beautification.

For more information about the Awards program, contact Ruth McKenty, Commission Co-chairperson via email at