Alexandria Sheriff’s Office Celebrates 2012 Annual Employee Awards

On Wednesday, March 21, 2012, the Alexandria Sheriff’s Office held its annual employee awards ceremony to recognize sworn and civilian staff for their achievements and contributions, as well as recent promotions. The City’s Chief of Staff Bruce Johnson delivered the keynote speech before Sheriff Dana Lawhorne presented the following awards.

Page archived as of November 30, 2015

Best Idea – Ramone Brooks
The Best Idea Award is given to the employee who has had the single best idea for improving Office operations.  Ramone Brooks, the System Program Specialist, received this award for his introduction of Wyse terminals in the Detention Center.

Community Service – Deputy Marybeth Plaskus
The Community Service award is given to the employee who is involved in volunteer activities in his or her community and contributes a consistent amount of his or her off-duty time.  Deputy Plaskus received this award for her service as a volunteer with the Women’s Varsity Volleyball Team of Woodbridge High School.

Esprit de Corps – Deputy Pedro Ocasio
The Esprit de Corps Award is given to the employee who most exemplifies a professional, spirit, team work, enthusiasm and dedication to the Sheriff’s Office and to the profession.  Deputy Ocasio received this award for his enthusiasm on the job, his dedication to helping others on his team learn the booking function, and for the support his gives his team members whenever it is needed.

Uniform and Physical Fitness – Deputy Raymond Veney
The Uniform and Physical Fitness award is given to a sworn staff employee for his or her exceptional personal appearance in uniform and general physical condition.  Deputy Veney received this award for his overall appearance in uniform and excellent physical condition.

SgtMensahHonoredOutstanding Performance
The award is given to one sworn Deputy Sheriff, one line civilian employee, one sworn supervisory employee and one civilian supervisory employee.  Those receiving these awards will have each demonstrated exemplary performance in their job class, completed extra assignments, served as role models to their colleagues.

By sworn line staff – Deputies Stephen Mackey and Robert Gilmore
By sworn supervisor – Sergeant Felicia Mensah (right)
By civilian line staff – Ruth Graham
By civilian supervisor – Cindy Catlett 

Unit Spirit Award – Security Team 1B
The award is given to a Sheriff’s Office working unit that best exemplifies unity, cooperation, and camaraderie.  The winners of this award demonstrates good working relations within their workgroup, displaying the highest level of cooperation, respect and positive interpersonal relations among the unit’s members.  Team 1B received this award for its camaraderie, togetherness and ability to accomplish its mission in the spirit of cooperation and teamwork.

Contributions by an Employee of a City Agency, Organization or Contractor – Stephen Reed, EAI, Inc.
The award is given to an employee of another City agency, an organization within the City, or a contract service with the Office who has contributed to the Sheriff’s Office through interagency cooperation.  Steve Reed received this award for his superior customer service in the installation and servicing of the Detention Center’s new security systems and equipment.

Employees of the Quarter – 2011
Employees of the Quarter were nominated by colleagues for their excellent performance during the quarter. 

1stQuarter – Ramone Brooks, System Program Specialist
2ndQuarter – Brenda Gray, LIDS Technician
3rd Quarter – Deputy Robert Gilmore, Training
4th Quarter – Michelle Frier, Records Clerk

Pistol Master
The following Deputy Sheriffs were recognized as pistol masters for receiving an average score of 99% or better in the Office’s annual firearms qualification.

Deputy Ernesto Arroyo
Deputy Keawatin Carter
Deputy Timothy Honig
Deputy Eric Murray
Deputy Pedro Ocasio
Deputy Jarrod Overstreet
Sergeant Brian DeSouza
Sergeant Rawle Kelly
Sergeant Michael Neebe
Sergeant Douglas Woehlke
Lieutenant Michael Eller
Captain Douglas Schuler

Sheriff Lawhorne also recognized the recent promotion of Sergeant Joseph Pankey who was elevated to his current rank in December 2011.

For more information, contact Amy Bertsch at 703.746.5014 or