Sheriff’s Office Promotes Ten Deputies Including Chief Deputy

Page archived as of November 30, 2015

Alexandria Sheriff Dana Lawhorne formally promoted ten deputies, the largest group to be promoted in more than two decades, at a ceremony on Thursday, November 8 at the Alexandria Sheriff’s Office on Mill Road. Those promoted include a Chief Deputy and two Captains, as well as four Lieutenants and three Sergeants.

These promotions are an important milestone in the history of the Alexandria Sheriff’s Office, signifying a major wave of leadership change in the ranks of the Sheriff’s Office. For the first time in 25 years, promotions are being made simultaneously at every level of Office supervision, from Sergeant to Chief Deputy. The promotions were necessary due to the recent retirements of several tenured and experienced supervisors and mark the beginning of a shift from baby boomer leadership to the next generation. The promotions are also distinctive by their sheer number, with eight of the ten staff assuming their new commands within a month. While 2009 saw almost equal numbers of promotions, the change in leadership was gradual, occurring over several months instead of over a few weeks.

Says Sheriff Lawhorne, “The extensive experience and strong leadership of these talented men and women will not only greatly benefit those under their command but also the future direction of the Office.”

At the ceremony, City Manager Rashad Young gave the keynote speech and Edward Semonian, Clerk of the Alexandria Circuit Court, swore in the following deputies at their new rank.

Chief Deputy Clarke Stearns
Captain Dottie Pope
Captain Shelbert Williams
Lieutenant Brian DeSouza
Lieutenant Mavis Thomas
Lieutenant Deborah Vaughan
Lieutenant Douglas Woehlke
Sergeant Jarrod Overstreet
Sergeant Larry Richardson
Sergeant Waraphan Srikongyos

Photo: Sheriff Dana Lawhorne (far right) and City Manager Rashad Young (second from right) and Clerk of Court Ed Semonian (second from left) congratulate ten deputies on their promotions. (l-r) Chief Deputy Clarke Stearns, Clerk of Court Ed Semonian, Captain Shelbert Williams, Captain Dottie Pope, Lieutenant Douglas Woehlke, Sergeant Waraphan Srikongyos, Lieutenant Brian DeSouza, Lieutenant Deborah Vaughan, Lieutenant Mavis Thomas, Sergeant Larry Richardson, Sergeant Jarrod Overstreet, City Manager Rashad Young and Sheriff Dana Lawhorne.

 2012 Promotions