

Minutes

EPC MONTHLY MEETING

February 27, 2023
City Hall, Conference Room 2000

Zoom Meeting Recording
7:30 - 9:30 p.m.

Attendance

EPC Members (13)	Status	Staff		
Dan Beattie	P	Jessica Lassetter, T&ES		
Eldon Boes	PR	Melissa Atwood, T&ES		
Alexander Clark	P	Bill Skrabak, T&ES		
Benjamin Cuddy	Е	Ryan Freed, Climate Action Officer		
Jennifer Debias	PR	Dustin Smith, P&Z		
Cynthia Elliott	P	Robert Kerns, P&Z		
Oleksandr Faryga	Е	Michael Swidrak, P&Z		
Kathie Hoekstra, Chair	р			
Michael Olex, Vice-Chair	P	Invited Guests		
Theresa Romanosky	P	Mary Catherine Gibbs, Wire Gill, LLP		
Marta Schantz	PR	Melissa Schrock, HRP		
		Michelle Chang, HRP		
Public		Amelia Chasse-Alcivat, HRP		
Steve Walz		Linda Toth, Arup		
Scott Barstow		Stephen Lasser, Arup		
David Peabody		Jared Krieger, Gensler		
Jim Vandeputte				
Dun Slayman				

P: Present; PR: Present Remotely; A: Absent - Unexcused; E: Absent - Excused; N: Not a Member

1. Welcome & Introductions

Chair Kathie Hoekstra called meeting to order that was followed by introductions for all attendees.

2. Public Comment

<u>Scott Barstow</u> – Thank you to the EPC for working with Planning Commission on letter sent to Council on updating Green Building Policy and other parts of the entitlement process.

3. Administrative Items

a. Meeting Minutes

Vote on January 10, 2023 meeting minutes for approval. **Motion**: Mr. Dan Beattie; **Second** = Mr. Alexander Clark; **Vote**: Unanimous approval.

Vote on January 23, 2023 meeting minutes for approval. **Motion**: Mr. Dan Beattie; **Second** = Mr. Alexander Clark; **Vote**: Unanimous approval.

Vote on January 30, 2023 meeting minutes. **Motion**: Mr. Dan Beattie motion to approve with allowance for small technical corrections from Planning Commission. **Second** = Mr. Michael Olex. **Vote**: Unanimous approval.

b. Reports from Commissioners

- Strawberry Run (Mr. Eldon Boes): Moving toward good resolution. John Fields came to discuss the Big Wood approach. This citizen group may elect this solution versus other restoration options.
- Open Space Steering Committee (Mr. Michael Olex): There are three tasks this group is trying to do. <u>Task #1</u> (completed): define and classify the open space in Alexandria. What happens in the future with increased number of people and maintaining ratio of open space to population. How do we evaluate quality of open space. <u>Task #2</u>: approve methods of pursuing new open space, budgeting process, and criteria applied when acquiring new open space. <u>Task #3</u>: Open space with respect to new development.
- Taylor Run Meetings (Mr. Michael Olex): Several wins for the group, such as the Natural Channel Design being changed to a minimalist approach to address specific infrastructure issues. Creating a list of criteria (e.g., maintaining biodiversity) and recommended approaches for City to address concerns. Next step is to involve city staff to share recommendations and have discussion at joint meeting. IEN involvement extended to complete this process. City Manager stated in a memo that this citizen group will be involved in various stages of planning.
- General Assembly (Chair Kathie Hoekstra): Items addressed include Dominion's bill to raise their profit rate and change retirement for coal fired plants; gave up 3-year annual audit, now 2 years; and role-up rate adjustment clauses into base rate. Went to conference committee for decision on items. Nuclear pilot program won't happen potentially costing ratepayers for work that never results in the production of electricity. Chair Hoekstra testified before City Council in favor of Samuel Madden Homes, the first net zero affordable housing in Alexandria. May use prevailing rate and energy efficiency to qualify for federal funding under the Inflation Reduction Act.

c. Notice of Change for EPC Bylaws

Chair Hoekstra announced proposed change to bylaws allowing flexibility in date for retreat. ECP will vote on changes during March 20, 2023 meeting.

d. Voting on New Secretary for EPC

Previous secretary resigned. Secretary roles include collecting votes on chair/vice-chair annual nomination and review meeting minutes. Ms. Theresa Romanosky's interest was uncontested, and she assumed the role.

e. Earth Day EPC Participation in Ellen Pickering Award

Ms. Cynthia Elliott agreed to participate as the EPC member in the selection of the award winner for the 2023 Ellen Pickering Award.

4. Update on the HILCO Coordinated Sustainability Strategy (CSS) for the Former Potomac River Generating Station (PRGS) Site, Alexandria, VA

Mary Catherine Gibbs, Wire Gill, LLP and Linda Toth, Arup, updated the Commission on the CSS for PRGS. Included information on CDD Sustainability Condition review and achieving targets; CSS related to energy codes, EUI estimates, district energy feasibility analysis, and renewables; and targets for energy, water, human health, and climate and resilience. Discussed reporting requirements and tracking at a block level and financial considerations and potential incentives.

5. EPC Discussion of CSS Update

Commission members had questions and requested clarification related to: calculations for EUI and estimated EUI for overall development; strategy for going/not going for Healthy Building Certification; what it takes to move from innovative to market-ready; consideration of backup batteries for emergency/safety reasons; tracking information and duration; requirements for EV charging stations and EV ready; building design to help influence user behaviors; emerging technology for combined electrical systems with 5G capability; design issues related to pedestrian life in the area; and rationale of 10% embodied carbon reduction.

Expressed appreciation for providing whole building energy modeling versus just what is under your control and quality of CSS information presented.

6. Adjourn

Motion to Adjourn: Mr. Michael Olex ; **Second:** Ms. Marta Schantz; **Vote:** unanimous approval.

The meeting adjourned at 9:38 p.m.

FY2023 Attendance

Member	Sep 19, 2022	Oct 17, 2022	Nov 21, 2022	Dec 19, 2022	Jan 10, 2023	Jan 23, 2023	Jan 30, 2023	Feb 27, 2023	TOTALS
Eldon Boes	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	100.0%
Kathie Hoekstra	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	100.0%
Marta Schantz	Р	Р	Р	Е	Е	Р	Р	Р	71.4%
Jennifer Debias	Р	Р	Р	Р	Е	Р	Р	Р	85.7%
Benjamin Cuddy	Р	Р	Е	Р	Р	Р	Е	Е	71.4%
Michael Olex	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	100.0%
Cynthia Elliott	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Е	Р	Р	85.7%
Oleksandr Faryga	Р	Р	Α	Р	Р	Р	Е	Е	71.4%
Dan Beattie	Е	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	85.7%
Theresa Romanosky			Р	Р	Е	Р	Р	Р	80.0%
Alexander Clark	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	100.0%