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Home Alone?
Child Supervision Guidelines 

These are some of the most important topics to 
discuss and answer together. 

Who should I call in an emergency?

When am I allowed to use the phone?

What should I do if someone knocks on the 
door?

What should I do if I am locked out?

When should I call 911?

Your Family PlanCommunity Resources Is my child ready? Guidelines Are my home  
and family ready?

There are no laws in Virginia that say when or 
for how long a child can be left alone.  Working 
with other jurisdictions in Northern Virginia, 
Alexandria has developed these supervision 
guidelines for parents and caretakers to 
consider before leaving a child alone.  
Parents are ultimately responsible for making 
decisions about their children’s safety. Every 
child is different and must be assessed based 
on their maturity, skills and comfort level to be 
home alone.

Is my child ready? Does he or she ...
•	understand instructions and follow 

important rules?
•	know how to ask for help from friends, 

neighbors, and police?
•	make good decisions when away from you 

or other adults?
•	know when to contact you and 911 when 

needed?
•	feel comfortable and confident about 

staying home alone?

SUPERVISION

8 YEARS AND YOUNGER should always be 
in the care of a responsible person. Children 
this age should never be left unsupervised in 
homes, cars, playgrounds or yards.
9-10 YEARS OLD may be ready to be left 
unsupervised up to 1.5 hours during daylight 
and early evening hours.
11-12 YEARS OLD may be ready to be left 
unsupervised up to 3 hours during daylight 
and early evening hours.
13-15 YEARS OLD may be ready to be left 
unsupervised more than three hours but not 
overnight.
16 AND OLDER may be ready to be left 
unsupervised overnight for one to two days, 
with a plan in place.

BABYSITTING

10-12 YEARS OLD may provide care of other 
children for up to three hours with the help of 
an adult.
13-15 YEARS OLD may babysit infants and 
children but not overnight.
16 AND OLDER may watch children 
overnight.

1.	Write family rules together. Discuss rules 
for phone and screen use, cooking, taking 
care of siblings, doing homework, going 
outside, having friends over and answering 
the door.

2.	Help your child memorize their 
address and important telephone numbers.

3.	Review and post a list of emergency 
contacts. Make sure smoke and carbon 
monoxide detectors are working.

4.	Have a spare key available. Leave an 
extra key with a neighbor or trusted adult.  
Make sure your child knows how to use the 
door and window locks. 

5.	Let a trusted neighbor know that your 
child may be home alone. Designate a safe 
place where your child can go if he or she 
feels scared or unsafe.

6.	Check in with your child by phone/text 
regularly.

7.	Teach home safety, including proper use 
of kitchen utensils and appliances if allowed.  
Safely secure any dangerous items.

8.	Have a plan for emergencies. Discuss 
what to do when your regular schedule 
breaks down because of delays or other 
unexpected occurrences.

DCHS Child Protective Services
703.746.5800 (24-hour Hotline)
www.alexandriava.gov/ChildAbuse 

DCHS Early Childhood Division
For child care resources.
703.746.KIDS (5437)
www.alexandriava.gov/DCHS

The Campagna Center 
Child care programs, including Head Start, 
from newborn through school-age.
703.549.0111
www.campagnacenter.org 

Department of Recreation, Parks  
& Cultural Activities
For school-age child programs.
703.746.4343
www.alexandriava.gov/Recreation

The American Red Cross
For training and certification in 
babysitting, child care, and first aid.   
On-line and classroom options available.
703.549.8300
www.redcrossnca.org

Stop Child Abuse Now of Northern 
Virginia (SCAN)
For parenting education and resources.
703.820.9001
www.scanva.org

Practice staying home alone and  
what to do in these scenarios.
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