ALEXANDRIA HEALTH DEPARTMENT

Environmental Health Division
4480 King Street, Suite 360
Alexandria, VA 22302

Phone: 703.746.4910

Stephen A. Haering, MD, MPH FAX: 703.746.4919
Health Director www.alexandriava.gov/EnvironmentalHealth

MASSAGE ESTABLISHMENT PERMIT APPLICATION

Application for: [] New Facility [ ] Renewal [ ] Update Information
[] change of Ownership (Estimated Date of Settlement )
(Previous Facility Name: )

FACILITY INFORMATION

Facility Name (Trading as):

Physical Address:

Mailing Address (if different from facility address):

Onsite Telephone #: Phone #: Email:

Contact Person Name: Position:

FACILITY OWNER INFORMATION:

Legal Owner type: [] Association [] Corporation [] LLC [] Individual [] Partnership [] Other Legal Entity
Association, Corporation, Partnership Name:
CRIMINAL OFFENSES: [J 1 have attached __ documents [] No documents attached.

List on the back or attach to this application, all criminal offenses for which the owner or operator has been convicted or
in relation to which you have pleaded nolo contendere or suffered a forfeiture, including the offenses identified in
Alexandria City Code Section 11-4.2-3(b).

THERAPISTS: The following therapists have been approved to work at this location:

' Virginia Board of Nursing #  State Board i Alexandria Permit
Therapist’s Name i (State Board License) i Expiration Date i Expiration Date

[J Additional therapists listed on back

NOTICES: 1t is unlawful for any person to make a false statement on this application and discovery of a false
statement shall constitute sufficient grounds in and of itself, for denial of an application or revocation of a permit, or for
the imposition of a fine or imprisonment or both. No person may provide or administer a massage at this massage
establishment for which the permit is sought without a massage therapist permit issued under this chapter (11-4.2) and
I have read and understand this statement.

Applicant’s Signature: Date:

Applicant’s Name (printed):

// VIRGINIA
APPLICATION AND/OR PERMIT DEPARTMENT $25 Permit Application Fee

FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE OF HEALTH Deposit to 119768-7043

Protecting You and Your Environment



http://library.municode.com/HTML/10349/level3/PTIITHCOGEOR_TIT11HEENSARE_CH4.2MARE.html#PTIITHCOGEOR_TIT11HEENSARE_CH4.2MARE_S11-4.2-3MATHISMATHPE

FACILITY DATA BOX TO BE COMPLETED BY HEALTH DEPARTMENT

FACILITY DATA

Tax Map: VENIS Physical Location Name (if different from Facility):

Date Closed in Plan Review Database: Closed by:

Permit #:

Permit Conditions:

Permit Application Date: Permit Fee Paid Date:

Recommended for Permit by: Date:

Supervisor Approval: Date:

Date File Created in VENIS: Permit Issue Date: Initials:
S:\Administrative\Forms\Originals\Application, Massage Establishment Permit.docx F-HEA-0183 (Updated: August 2012)

ADDITIONAL THERAPISTS

' Virginia Board of Nursing # ! State Board ' Alexandria Permit
Therapist’s Name . (State Board License) ' Expiration Date . Expiration Date

CRIMINAL OFFENSES

Alexandria City Code Section 11-4.2-3 (b) refers to Sections 18.2-344 through 18.2-361 or sections 18.2-372
through 18.2-387 of the Code of Virginia (1950), as amended. These sections relate to sexual offenses,
prostitution, obscenity, and similar offenses.
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PERMIT FEES

Permit fees are not required for applications updating contact information. All other
applicants must submit a $25 non-refundable permit fee. Acceptable methods of payment
include cash, check, and money order, with checks or money orders made payable to the
“City of Alexandria.” Pay cash payments in person.

NEW ESTABLISHMENTS

Establishments not recently permitted as a massage establishment will require a plan
review prior to submitting an application for permit. Once a plan review has been
completed, submit this application and the Establishment Permit Application with the
application fees to our office. Visit our website at http://alexandriava.gov/MassagePermits
for more information about these processes.

RENEWAL PROCESS

Applications and permit fees may be submitted in person or mailed to the Alexandria Health
Department, Environmental Health Division, 4480 King Street, 3" floor, Alexandria, VA
22302.

Once the application and payment is received, a new permit will be printed and given or
mailed to the establishment’s address. The effective dates of the new permit will be set to
ensure that the establishment will maintain a continual permitted status (ex. If the
establishment’s previous permit expired on January 31, 2009, the next issued permit will be
set to begin February 1, 2009 and expire on January 31, 2010). Receipts will not be
returned unless specifically requested.

PERMITTED THERAPISTS

Only massage therapists permitted by the Alexandria Health Department AND certified by
the Virginia Board of Nursing can provide massage services at your establishment. Both
credentials must be up-to-date and accurate. Like therapists, if a business owner would like
to provide massage services, he/she must obtain the Alexandria Health Department
massage therapist permit and Board of Nursing Certification.

As a massage establishment, you have the authority to allow or prohibit a massage
therapist to provide services under you massage establishment permit. We request that a
therapist submit a letter from you stating that you will allow them to provide services under
your permit. Should a therapist discontinue (voluntarily or involuntarily) a business
relationship with your establishment, notify the Health Department in writing of this change.

INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS
As a reminder, therapists who serve as a contractor with your business may require a

separate business license. For more information, contact the Business Tax Branch at
703.746.3909.

F-HEA-0183 S:\Administrative\Forms\Originals Updated: 08-2012


http://alexandriava.gov/MassagePermits

