Main content
City of Alexandria Homepage
City of Alexandria, VA City of Alexandria, VA
Mayor & City Council
Share Share RSS RSS Print Print Text Size Text Size NormalText Size LargeText Size Extra Large
Page updated Nov 23, 2015 4:20 PM

No Comments Posted Yet

The Alexandria City Council is composed of a Mayor and six Council members who are elected at-large for three-year terms. Any in-term vacancy is filled by a special election unless the vacancy occurs within six months of the end of the term, at which time a judicial appointment is made.

Photo - Alexandria City Council Jan 2013The Mayor, who is chosen on a separate ballot, presides over meetings of the Council and serves as the ceremonial head of government. The Mayor does not have the power to veto Council action. Council members traditionally choose the person receiving the most votes in the election to serve as Vice Mayor. In the absence or disability of the Mayor, the Vice Mayor performs the mayoral duties.

To reach the Mayor and Members of City Council, call 703.746.4500, or send a group e-mail to the Mayor and Members of City Council . To email a Member or Aide individually, use the links within each bio below. Biographical information presented here is provided by City Council staff.

For personal financial disclosures, see Statements of Economic Interests.  For campaign finance disclosures, see  Campaign Finance Reports.

Mayor Euille

Mayor William D. Euille

William D. Euille has served on City Council since 1994, including as mayor since 2003.

Read More About Mayor Euille  |   Contact Mayor Euille 

Vice Mayor Silberberg

Vice Mayor Allison Silberberg

Elected to the Alexandria City Council in 2012, Allison Silberberg is a writer and lifelong advocate for social justice issues. She has worked to promote civic engagement and address unmet social needs.

Read More About Vice Mayor Silberberg  |   Contact Vice Mayor Silberberg 

Councilman Chapman

Councilman John T. Chapman

John Taylor Chapman was elected to the City Council in November 2012. As a member of City Council, John serves on the following local and regional boards: the Local Emergency Planning Committee, Eisenhower Partnership Board of Directors, the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments Public Safety and Human Services Committee, Eisenhower Partnership Board of Directors, Eco-City Alexandria Environmental Action Plan Steering Committee, Alexandria Campaign on Adolescent Pregnancy, Sister Cities Committee, Gang Prevention Task Force, and the Children, Youth and Families Collaborative Commission.

Read More About Councilman Chapman  |   Contact Councilman Chapman 

Councilman Lovain

Councilman Timothy B. Lovain

Tim Lovain served on the Alexandria City Council from 2006 to 2009 and was returned to City Council by Alexandria voters in 2012. He uses his transportation expertise to help Alexandria and the region address our transportation challenges. The Councilmember also focuses on environmental issues, cooperation with Alexandria's nonprofit organizations, and the special needs of Alexandria's young people and seniors. Before serving on City Council, Tim was the chair of the City Council's Budget and Fiscal Affairs Advisory Committee.

Read More About Councilman Lovain  |   Contact Councilman Lovain 

Councilwoman Pepper

Councilwoman Redella S. "Del" Pepper

Del Pepper was first elected to the City Council in 1985. She served as Vice Mayor from 1996 to 1997, from 2003 to 2006, and from 2007 to 2009. Pepper co-chairs the Beauregard Street Corridor Task Force, the Alexandria-Arlington Task Force on the Waste-To-Energy Plant and the Welfare Reform Committee (Alexandria Works!). She is active with the Commission on Aging, Commission on Information Technology, Facilities Naming Committee, and the Council of Governments Air Quality Committee and Board of Directors. She was recently elected Corporate President of the COG. She is a member of the Northern Virginia Regional Commission, where she also chairs the Regional Resources Committee.

Read More About Councilwoman Pepper  |   Contact Councilwoman Pepper 

Councilman Smedberg

Councilman Paul C. Smedberg

Paul C. Smedberg was first elected to the Alexandria City Council in 2003 and was re-elected for a fourth consecutive term in November 2012. He remains committed to protecting the historic legacy of the City, maintaining quality public schools, assuring a well-planned community and improving the quality of life for all. He has gained a reputation for promoting efficient and responsive local government with both sound fiscal and economic policies. He has gained a reputation in Northern Virginia for his ongoing presence and participation with regional transportation bodies.

Read More About Councilman Smedberg  |   Contact Councilman Smedberg 

Councilman Wilson

Councilman Justin Wilson

A leader in protecting the City's fiscal health, promoting transportation solutions, and ensuring the success of every child, Justin Wilson was elected to the Alexandria City Council in November 2012, having previously served from July 2007 through June of 2009.

Read More About Councilman Wilson  |   Contact Councilman Wilson