Real Property Tax Relief for Veterans with 100% Service-Connected Disability
Real Property Tax Exemption for Veterans with 100% Service-Connected Disability
Pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 6-A of Article X of the Constitution of Virginia, the City offers a full real estate tax exemption to any veteran who has been rated by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or its successor agency pursuant to federal law to have a 100 percent service-connected, permanent and total disability. For a real estate exemption, the applicant must also occupy the real property as his/her primary place of residence (proof of residence, such as a state tax return, may be requested). The surviving spouse of a veteran eligible for the real estate exemption may also qualify as long as the death of the veteran occurs on or after January 1, 2011, and the surviving spouse does not remarry. The exemption applies without any restriction on the spouse’s moving to a different principal place of residence. See Va. Code § 58.1-3219.5, (https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter32/section58.1-321…).
Please do not send any documents or messages that contain personal or confidential information to City email addresses. If you need to submit documents that contain personal or confidential information, please email email@example.com or call 703.746.4800 to request a secure link for uploading confidential documents.
Anyone who has received an exemption under this program in prior years need not reapply annually unless there has been a material change in the circumstances relating to the applicant's qualifications for the exemption, such as a change in the veteran's disability rating, the death of the veteran, or a change in the applicant's primary residence. In the event that the veteran receiving a real estate exemption has passed away, his or her surviving spouse may still qualify for tax exemption.
This exemption has no means test (it is not based on the applicant’s income or assets). However, certain documentation must be submitted in order to qualify. The exemption is effective beginning on and after January 1, 2011. Taxes assessed for years prior to this date are not eligible for exemption.
Personal Property (Car Tax) Exemption for Veterans with 100% Service-Connected Disability
Pursuant to a 2020 amendment to subdivision (a)(8), Article X, Section 6 of the Constitution of Virginia, the City offers a tax exemption to one motor vehicle (only a passenger car, pickup or panel truck registered for personal use) owned and used primarily by or for a veteran of the Armed Forces of the United States or the Virginia National Guard who has been rated by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or its successor agency pursuant to federal law with a 100 percent service-connected, permanent and total disability. A vehicle may qualify for exemption if co-owned with a spouse as long as at least one of the owners is a qualified permanently and totally disabled veteran. Leased vehicles do not qualify for the exemption.
Pursuant to the enabling legislation adopted by the 2021 Virginia General Assembly, this exemption shall be applicable beginning on the date the motor vehicle is acquired or January 1, 2021, whichever is later, and shall not be applicable for any period of time prior to January 1, 2021. The exemption shall expire on the date of the disabled veteran’s death and shall not be available for the surviving spouse. See Va. Code § 58.1-3668, ( https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212+ful+CHAP0156+pdf). Residential Parking Permit fees still apply and are not subject to exemption.
A veteran is considered to have a 100 percent service-connected disability if:
- The veteran's disability is rated at 100 percent; or
- The veteran's service-connection is rated at less than 100 percent, but the veteran is paid at the 100 percent disability rate due to unemployability.
Under either standard, the disability must be considered total and permanent. Veterans with temporary disabilities, no matter how severe, do not qualify.
To obtain required disability documentation from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), simply complete VA Form 21-4138 and fax this to the VA at 540-597-1792; or mail this form to:
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
210 Franklin Rd SW
Roanoke, VA 24011
By law, disability documentation must come from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It is not sufficient just to submit a medical certification from your private physician.
After receiving the required VA documentation, simply download the City of Alexandria Elderly and Disabled Tax Relief application and documentation to the address on the application.
All applicants must provide certification of the veteran's disability rating from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or its successor agency. Surviving spouses applying for the exemption must also provide a copy of the veteran’s death certificate.
Filing An Application
Although there is no deadline to file the application, the City encourages applicants to submit their applications in time for them to be received or postmarked no later than June 15.
Disabled Veterans or Surviving Spouses wishing to receive an application by mail may contact:
Tax Relief, Revenue Division, Department of Finance
301 King Street, Room 1700
Alexandria, VA 22314
For your safety and the safety of staff during the pandemic, in-person assistance for Tax Relief and for Disabled Veteran Exemptions is currently limited, and available by advance appointment only. Most assistance can be provided by telephone, email, or virtual online meetings.
For assistance, or to schedule a meeting, if necessary, please email TaxRelief@alexandriava.gov or call 703.746.4800. Information is also available online at alexandriava.gov/TaxRelief.