Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

Page updated on Mar 12, 2020 at 1:35 PM

Alexandria Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

 Council Members

Elizabeth Bennett-Parker

Canek Aguirre

LEPC Members

Russell Furr (Chief Deputy Fire Marshal)

Kevin McGuinnigle

Matthew Feely

Chad Lallier (Battalion Chief)

Kevin Peach

Michael Pope



City Staff Contact 

Ray Whatley, Office of Emergency Management, 703.746.5266

The Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) reviews and advises on the City's emergency plans, including those aimed at addressing  extremely hazardous substances (EHSs) that have been specified by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1987 (EPCRA).

The LEPC receives annual Hazardous Chemical Inventory reports (aka Tier II reports) from facilities that have certain quantities of hazardous chemicals (as defined by EPA) on site. In 2014, 24 facilities in the City of Alexandria submitted Hazardous Chemical Inventory reports for substances that were present during calendar year 2013. The only EHS present above a threshold quantity at any of the reporting facilities is sulfuric acid (almost exclusively contained within batteries). The most commonly reported substances are various petroleum products. Hazardous Chemical Inventory reports are available for public review at the Alexandria Office of Emergency Management. 

The LEPC meets quarterly at the call of the Chair, and all meetings are open to the public. The next LEPC meeting is scheduled for 10 a.m. at the Emergency Operations Center (EOC) located at 2003 Mill Rd, Suite 3200.

  • Thursday, March 7 (rescheduled for April 2)
  • Thursday, June 6
  • Thursday, September 5
  • Thursday, December 5 (rescheduled for January 23)

For additional information, please contact Ray Whatley, Office of Emergency Management, at 703.746.5266.


  • Two elected state and local officials
  • Two representatives from law enforcement and fire department personnel
  • Two representatives of broadcast and print media
  • Two representatives of community groups
  • Two owners and operators of facilities subject to the federal emergency planning requirements of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA) Title III

Term of Service:

  • 2-year term

Links / Useful Resources