Development Division

The Development Division works to retain and enhance Alexandria's quality of life by ensuring that development proposals are consistent with the City's Master Plan and Zoning Ordinance; consist of the highest quality building design, urban design and site planning; and provide an overall public benefit. To meet these challenges the Division employs a rigorous and responsive development review process, ensuring that the community is kept informed and encouraged to participate.

Page updated on May 27, 2021 at 9:43 AM

Community Engagement

Active and Recent Development Projects and Future Development Areas


    Related Departments

    Contact Us

    Department of Planning and Zoning
    Development Division
    301 King Street, Suite 2100
    Alexandria, Virginia 22314       (map)
    Phone: 703.746.4666
    Office hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00am - 5:00pm

    All Development Staff can be reached at the above phone number:

    • Jared Alves, Urban Planner
    • Sara Brandt-Vorel, Urban Planner
    • Maya Contreras, Principal Planner
    • Bill Cook, Urban Planner
    • Anna Franco, Urban Planner
    • Dirk Geratz, Principal Planner
    • Abigail Harwell, Urban Planner
    • Nathan Imm, Principal Planner 
    • Rob Kerns, Division Chief 
    • Carson Lucarelli, Urban Planner
    • Catherine Miliaras, Principal Planner
    • Nathan Randall, Urban Planner  
    • Michael Swidrak, Urban Planner
    • Daniel Welles, Urban Planner